Founded 1904

Co. Clare

Under 14 A Shield Semi-Final: Sixmilebridge vs. Wolfe Tones


Want to manage your club's membership online this year? We've seen revenue increase by 30%.

See More

Sixmilebridge was the venue for this U-14 A shield semi-final against Wolfe Tones. The Bridge started strong with a point in the opening twenty seconds with a well taken score from Daniel Chaplin and continued in this vein for the rest of the game. This score was followed up with two more in the fifth minute before the first goal came for the home side. Seamus O’Connell and Conor Gilligan worked the ball up the field and passed in to Conor Murphy who drew the goalie out before rattling the net for the first time. Murphy repeated this two minutes later for his side’s second goal. Wolfe Tones were unlucky not to have scored up to this point with a few shots falling short and great defending from O’Connell, Mark Sheedy and Oisín Breen. Murphy raised the green flag twice more before the end of the first half but Wolfe Tones finally got on the scoreboard in the 29th minute with points from Craig Riordan and Gavin Carrig leaving a half time score of 4-6 to 0-2 to the Bridge.

The home side started the second half in the same way as they did the first, with a Murphy point in the opening minute followed by another goal in the 4th as Murphy doubled on an incoming ball for his side’s 5th goal. For the rest of the half the Bridge remained firmly on top, with scores from Fionn Hayes, Cian Johnson and David Hassett. Wolfe Tones responded with another Carrig point and a score from Barry Justice but it was too little too late. Great displays from Seamus O’Connell, Tom Forde, Fionn Hayes and Conor Gilligan secured a win for the home side with Conor Murphy contributing five goals, ensuring his side’s victory. For Wolfe Tones, Gavin Carrig and Craig Rioirdan were impressive. On a final score line of 6-09 to 0-04 the Bridge now advance to the U14 A Shield final.

Sixmilebridge: Mark Sheedy, Tan Greene, Seamus O’Connell 0-1(f), Brendan Carey, Gary O’Callaghan, Oisin Breen, Lee Mulready, Tom Forde, Ian Collins, Daniel Chaplin 0-1, Conor Gilligan(0-1), Fionn Hayes(0-2), Daniel Dunne, Conor Murphy(5-2), Brendan Carey, Jack Holloway(0-1).
Subs: Fiachra O Braoin for Conor Murphy, Cian Johnson(0-1) for Daniel Chaplin, Jack Lee for Daniel Dunne, Darren Hurley for Tan Greene, David Hassett(1-0) for Jack Holloway, Patrick Ahern for Tom Forde.

Other News

Download Clubify and subscribe for more news.

757ec045 9d97 4678 8cca 2622f3945c16

Munster Final Tickets on Sale Tomorrow at Centra/

Munster Final Tickets on Sale Tomorrow at Centra/Tickets....

Img 20180608 131746

Work on indoor arena has commenced

'I promise you we will turn the sod in the first week of ...


Club Shop Open Friday Evening - 6 to 7:30

Opening hours for club shop this week are: Friday 22nd J...

Img 20180618 wa0012

Well done Adam

Following on from Shanny's success in receiving the man o...

20180619145843429 0001

Lotto Results 18/06/2018



Thurles the venue for Munster Final

MUNSTER CCC HAVE this evening confirmed Semple Stadium as...

Download Clubify

Get live information for Club on the Clubify App

App Store Google Play