Founded 1904

Co. Clare

Munster Club 1992 - SMB V Ballygunner

20191017 141851 20%281%29

Download our mobile app to hear more about Sixmilebridge.

See More

Sixmilebridge 3-12 Ballygunner 0-05

From Clare Champion: November 20 1992

Sixmilebridges easy victory over Ballygunner in the semi-final of the Munster club hurling Championship on Sunday has been dampened somewhat by the news that long serving midfielder Flan Quilligan has joined defender Noel O’Gorman as a definite non starter for the final. And there are doubts about the availability of team captain John Chaplin following his sending off in the final minute of Sundays game.

As the scoreline suggests Sixmilebridge were deserved winners of this tie taking control early in the first half. In fairness to the visitors it must be pointed out that they won the Waterford title just 24 hours earlier for the first time in twenty plus years and the fact they were unable to match the Clare champions in the second half came as no surprise.

Despite the comprehensive nature of the victory there are still a number of areas which improvements is needed if the Clare champions are to win the title. John O’Connell was clearly their best player while Kevin McInerney was another to do well in defence. Flan Quilligan until injured and Noel Earley did well in midfield while up front Padraig McNamara, Eamonn Healy and Gerry McInerney did best in an attacking formation which was without Declan McInerney who was surprisingly omitted.

For the visitors Ray Whitty, Fergal Hartley, Stephen Frampton, Niall Warren and Paul Flynn did best.


Davy Fitzgerald; Mike O’Halloran, John O’Connell (0-01), Kieran O’Shea; Kevin McInerney, Sean Stack, John Chaplin (Capt); Flan Quilligan (0-01), Noel Earley (0-01); Danny Chaplin (1-01), Pat Morey, Padraig McNamara (0-03); Eoin Quane (1-01), Eamonn Healy (1-02), Gerry McInerney (0-02).

Subs: Christy Chaplin for Morey, Mike Twoomey for Quilligan (inj)

Ballygunner: R Whittey; C Lapthorene, N Warren, C Cantwell; S Lyons, F Hartley, S Frampton; E Brennan, M O’Neill; P Power (0-01), B Sullivan (0-01), C Sweeney; L Whitty (0-01), M O’Mahony (Capt), P Flynn (0-02).

Subs: S Holden for Sweeney, M Whelan for Power, D Frampton for Brennan (inj)

Referee: Pat O’Connor (Limerick)

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play