Founded 1904

Co. Clare

Intermediates triumph in 58 Score thriller

0927 inagh kilnamona sixmilebridge 1 696x385

Download our mobile app to hear more about Sixmilebridge.

See More

Source: The Clare Champion

Sixmilebridge 2-33 Inagh-Kilnamona 4-19 (AET)

The final intermediate game of the weekend proved to be the most dramatic as these two second string sides shared 6-52 between them over a brilliant 80 minutes of hurling.

In the opening 60 minutes, it proved to be the quintessential game of two halves with Inagh-Kilnamona racking up 2-14 before the break, and Sixmilebridge doing likewise in the second period.

When the half-time whistle sounded, Inagh-Kilnamona led by 2-14 to 0-7 with both first half goals from Damien O’Halloran along with Barry Keating’s frees putting them in the ascendency.

This Sixmilebridge side were unlucky not to reach the last four 12 months ago, only losing out to eventual champions Broadford after a penalty shootout in their quarter-final tie. It means that their last two championship games have gone to extra-time, and this time it was a storming second half fightback that forced the added period. That fight back was sparked by goals from Christy Griffin and Lorcan Fitzpatrick, while Sean Lynch was in fine form from placed balls to see the sides tied at 2-21 to 3-18 at full-time.

It was Sixmilebridge who carried that momentum through to the first period of extra-time as they rattled off five points in a dominant early spell. It was enough to see them put some daylight between the sides at the break, as they led 2-28 to 3-19, with Keating firing another goal for the Combo.

Five more points followed in the second period and despite another green flag for Inagh-Kilnamona from Jamesie McConigley, the Bridge followed up their senior victory with another good win to run out 2-33 to 4-19 victors.

Sixmilebridge: Shane Whyte; Tadgh Keogh, Christy Carey, Ronan Tuohy; Cillian Custy, Danny Morey, Tiernan Agnew; Ciaran Hassett, Jack Corry; Sean Lynch, Christy Griffin, Lorcan Fitzpatrick; Gavin Whyte, David O’Connor, Paul Corry.

Subs: Darragh O’Connor, Cathaoir Agnew, Adam Breen, Shaun Murray, Oisín Fitzpatrick, Tommy Liddy.

Scorers: Sean Lynch (0-15, 10f), Lorcan Fitzpatrick (1-3), Christy Griffin (1-2), Cathaoir Agnew and Jack Corry (0-3 each),Darragh O’Connor, David O’Connor and Paul Corry (0-2 each), Tiernan Agnew (0-1).

Inagh-Kilnamona: Joe Gallagher; Milo Keane, Stephen Foudy, Cathal McConigley; Austin Kerin, Colm Pilkington, Liam Hehir; Jason Griffin, John Keane; Tom Barry, Paul O’Looney, Shane Vaughan; Damien O’Halloran, James McConigley, Barry Keating.

Subs: Darragh Power, Niall Glynn, Colin Shannon, Marc Barry, Dylan McGerr, Paddy C Devitt, John Keane.

Scorers: Barry Keating (1-10, 7f), Damien O’Halloran (2-3), James McConigley (1-0), Tom Barry (0-2), Milo Keane, Liam Hehir, Paul O’Looney and Marc Barry (0-1 each).

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play