Founded 1904

Co. Clare

Under 14 A Shield Semi-Final: Sixmilebridge vs. Wolfe Tones


Download our mobile app to hear more about Sixmilebridge.

See More

Sixmilebridge was the venue for this U-14 A shield semi-final against Wolfe Tones. The Bridge started strong with a point in the opening twenty seconds with a well taken score from Daniel Chaplin and continued in this vein for the rest of the game. This score was followed up with two more in the fifth minute before the first goal came for the home side. Seamus O’Connell and Conor Gilligan worked the ball up the field and passed in to Conor Murphy who drew the goalie out before rattling the net for the first time. Murphy repeated this two minutes later for his side’s second goal. Wolfe Tones were unlucky not to have scored up to this point with a few shots falling short and great defending from O’Connell, Mark Sheedy and Oisín Breen. Murphy raised the green flag twice more before the end of the first half but Wolfe Tones finally got on the scoreboard in the 29th minute with points from Craig Riordan and Gavin Carrig leaving a half time score of 4-6 to 0-2 to the Bridge.

The home side started the second half in the same way as they did the first, with a Murphy point in the opening minute followed by another goal in the 4th as Murphy doubled on an incoming ball for his side’s 5th goal. For the rest of the half the Bridge remained firmly on top, with scores from Fionn Hayes, Cian Johnson and David Hassett. Wolfe Tones responded with another Carrig point and a score from Barry Justice but it was too little too late. Great displays from Seamus O’Connell, Tom Forde, Fionn Hayes and Conor Gilligan secured a win for the home side with Conor Murphy contributing five goals, ensuring his side’s victory. For Wolfe Tones, Gavin Carrig and Craig Rioirdan were impressive. On a final score line of 6-09 to 0-04 the Bridge now advance to the U14 A Shield final.

Sixmilebridge: Mark Sheedy, Tan Greene, Seamus O’Connell 0-1(f), Brendan Carey, Gary O’Callaghan, Oisin Breen, Lee Mulready, Tom Forde, Ian Collins, Daniel Chaplin 0-1, Conor Gilligan(0-1), Fionn Hayes(0-2), Daniel Dunne, Conor Murphy(5-2), Brendan Carey, Jack Holloway(0-1).
Subs: Fiachra O Braoin for Conor Murphy, Cian Johnson(0-1) for Daniel Chaplin, Jack Lee for Daniel Dunne, Darren Hurley for Tan Greene, David Hassett(1-0) for Jack Holloway, Patrick Ahern for Tom Forde.

Other News

Download Clubify and subscribe for more news.

789fcd8c b8e4 4f12 9bac 5bd1b20dcee6

U6/U8 Camogie Finale Night

Last Friday our U6s and U8s lined out for the last time t...

2335dn 20mfp 20181016 180628869

Lotto Results 15/10/2018 - €6000 JACKPOT WINNER !!!

Congratulations to Gerry Nash from Bunratty on winning ou...

24795a33 8b8b 4faf a6f2 bbbd8416b358

U6 Intercounty Blitz Video

See video footage here of our September U6 intercounty bl...

6be6e8e5 ba4e 4573 9d70 7885cd25c69a

Latest U6 Effort Poster Winners

Well done to our latest round of u6 Effort Poster WinnTom...

15c48d87 c46e 4a30 bec3 7bdd40611c97

U10 Camogie Host Fnal Blitz

Sixmilebridge U10's hosted the final blitz of the season ...

Lotto 08102018

Lotto Results 08/10/2018


Download Clubify

Get live information for Club on the Clubify App

App Store Google Play