Founded 1904

Co. Clare

Junior As progress to Quarter Finals of Championship

Download our mobile app to hear more about Sixmilebridge.

See More

Sixmilebridge 3-18
Ennistymon 1-9
Venue 0' Garney Park

Sixmilebridge 1-16
Broadford 1-15
Referee - Jim Hickey, Venue - Kilkishen

Two wins in 5 days gave the Junior As enough points on the board to proceed to the Quarter Finals of Championship. First up was Ennistymon in O' Garney Park on Wednesday night under lights. Then Broadford were the opponments in the final group game, to be played in Kilkishen on Sunday.

The Ennistymon game saw the 'Bridge win comfortably, on a scoreline of 3-18 to 1-9. Cian Fawl was back between the posts following a spell out with an ankle injury. The goals on the night comong from Daniel Chaplin, Evan Murphy and Tommy Liddy. Good for the 'Bridge on the night were Michael Carey and Conor Gilligan in the backs and Fionn Hayes and Daniel Chaplin in the forwards.

Next game was on Sunday and was a crunch game with Broadford. Played in Kilkishen on neutral ground, the pitch was immaculate and weather perfect for championship hurling. Danny Chaplin, the holder of an All Ireland Club Medal with his native Sixmilebridge was manager of his adopted club Broadford where he has resided for a number of years and where his sons play with the Senior side. Managing the 'Bridge side was Danny's first cousin Terence Chaplin, who led his team to the Junior B title last year.

The 'Bridge led 1-9 to 1-7 at half time, the goal coming from Evan Murphy who finished off a good move between Daniel Chaplin and David O' Conor. In the closing minutes of the second half it was neck and neck with nothing between the teams before the 'Bridge eventually scored a winner to win by the minimum. Good for the 'Bridge on the day were Evan Murphy on frees, Daniel Chaplin, David O' Connor and Tommy Liddy and Seamus O' Connell whos distribution, shooting and tackling in defence was excellent.

Interestingly, Official Rule 6.21 4 (c) iii decided the 'Bridges progression by virtue of having scored 19 points and winning by one point.

Sixmilebridge Team v Ennistymon
Cian Fawl, Conor Gilligan, Jason Murphy, Michael Carey, Seamus O' Connell, Paul Fitzpatrick, Evan O' Callagahan, Gary O' Callaghan (Sub Morgan O' Callaghan), Dara Casey (Sub Cian Gleeson), Fionn Hayes, David O' Connor, Evan Murphy (Sub Paddy Reilly), Daniel Chaplin, Tommy Liddy (Sub Stevie Mul), Noel Flynn

Sixmilebridge Team v Broadford
Cian Fawl, Conor Gilligan, Jason Murphy, Michael Carey, Seamus O' Connell, Paul Fitzpatrick, Evan O' Callagahan, Gary O' Callaghan, Dara Casey, Fionn Hayes, David O' Connor, Evan Murphy, Daniel Chaplin, Tommy Liddy, Noel Flynn (Sub Cian Gleeson)

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play