Founded 1904

Co. Clare

Cumann na mBunScoil Hurling Mini 7’s County Finals Report

Download our mobile app to hear more about Sixmilebridge.

See More

O'Garney Park was the venue on Wednesday for the County Final of the Cumann na mBunScoil Hurling Mini 7’s competition.

The competition involved 40 schools in Clare who played across 6 regional qualifiers with 1 school emerging from each venue to reach the final.

There were 6 schools competing to become county champions: Sixmilebridge N.S, Clonmoney N.S, Gaelscoil Inis, Ogonelloe N.S, Kilmaley N.S and Crusheen N.S.

On arrival the draw for the group stages was made with 2 groups of 3 with the winner of each group to emerge for the grand final.

Group 1: Sixmilebridge NS, Ogonelloe, Crusheen

After a narrow win in round 1 the Bridge boys grew with confidence to beat Ogonolloe by 6 and qualify for the final.

Sixmilebridge 3-04 Crusheen 2-06

Sixmilebridge 3-03 Crusheen 2-00

Group 2: Clonmoney, Gael Scoil Inis, Kilmaley

In Group 2 Clonmoney and the Gael Scoil drew in a thriller following a point for the Ennis school in the last puck of the game. This meant Clonmoney had to win their 2nd game by at least 9 points against Kilmaley which they duly delivered on.

Clonmoney 2-04 Gael Scoil 2-04

Clonmomoney 8-05 Kilmaley 1-01


The final was a fierce local battle and the game played out that way with all players attacking the ball and battling for every inch. SMB galloped into a 1:02 to no score lead with 4 minutes gone with thanks to a long-range goal from Blake Corbett

That lead would have been cut short with and excellently taken goal and 2 points from Clonmoney leaving the sides level at the break. The second half was much the same, a real dog fight for possession and scores. SMB got off the mark early on with a point and a great goal from Cian Flannery.

Instantly from the Clonmoney puckout, Matthew Murphy gained possession and roofed the ball into the SMB net. The schools exchanged points for the remaining minutes, and it wasn’t until a late free from the sideline from captain Jack Fitzpatrick sealed the win for SMB for the first time since 2013.

Jack accepted the cup and spoke in high regard for the teams, teachers, players, supporters, and the SMB field committee for the use of the field. Well done Sixmilebridge N.S on a tremendous win and to their teachers Mr. Lynch, Mr. Minogue and Principal Heagney.

Thanks to Mr. Keane for Coordinating the competition,

Commiserations to our neighbours Clonmoney who were excellent throughout and thanks to their teachers Mr. McCormack (Principal) and Mr. Guilfoyle who were very complimentary towards or boys after the game.

The SMB panel for today was; 1. Aaron Fitzpatrick 2. Matty Maxwell 3. Christopher Healy 4. Cian Flannery 5. Darragh Toomey 6. Jack Fitzpatrick 7. Blake Corbett 8. Jack Willis 9. Seán Finnin 10. Lee Gavin

Clonmoney: Olly Adams, Rian O'Connor, Eoin Lyne, Conall Earley, Eli Kenny, Matthew Murphy, Conor Barron

Both schools are in action next week in the St. Flannans tournament and following this it will be full focus on the Clare Schools competitions - Group Stages and Semi-Finals must be completed by May 29th! Finals confirmed for 12th & 13th of June! Best of luck to all schools! Some great games ahead!

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play