Founded 1904

Co. Clare

3 Bridge Boys Win Dean Ryan

Want to manage your club's membership online this year? We've seen revenue increase by 30%.

See More

Well done to Lorcan Fitzpatrick, Mark Gaule and Fionn MacGiolla Cearra who were members of the Ard Scoil Ris panel and team that won the Dean Ryan Cup recently beating Derek Mcgrath managed De La Salle.


MAtch Report from Limerick Leader


ARDSCOIL Ris have won the Dean Ryan Cup for just the second time ever with a 0-19 to 1-8 victory over Waterford’s De La Salle.

The Limerick secondary school won the Munster U-16 1/2 A hurling championship this Wednesday afternoon in Cashel.

Ardscoil Ris were Dean Ryan winners in 2008 but had previously lost the 2005 - both to St Flannans.

Two years ago they lost to Midleton CBS in this provincial final.

Managed by teachers Liam Cronin, Derek Larkin and Patrickswell’s Damien Gillane, Ardscoil Ris had beaten St Colmans, Kilmallock’s Colaiste Iosaef and Midleton CBS to reach this final.

This Wednesday’s victory was emphatic for a side captained jointly by Jerome Boylan and Rory Duff.

Ardscoil Ris were 0-9 to 1-3 ahead at half time against a De La Salle side that were managed by Waterford senior hurling manager, Derek McGrath, a teacher in the city school.

Paul O’Brien led the way in the opening 30-minutes with five points for the Limerick city side.

A Darragh Walsh goal kept the Waterford side in touch in the first half but a run of eight unanswered points from Ardscoil Ris laid the foundation for victory at the start of the second half.

Mungret’s O’Brien was one of many stars for Ardscoil Ris but he certainly led the scoring with a personal tally of 0-9 - including two fine points from lineballs.

ARDSCOIL RIS: Jason Gillane (Patrickswell); Padraig Heaney (Na Piarsaigh), Mark Daly (Na Piarsaigh), Josh Considine (Patrickswell); Paul Considine (Na Piarsaigh), Jerome Boylan (Na Piarsaigh), Lorcan Fitzpatrick (Sixmilebridge); Ronan Connolly (Adare), Diarmuid Ryan (Cratloe); Cillian O’Reilly (Ballybrown), Rory Duff (Mungret), Paul O’Brien (Mungret); James Daly (Na Piarsaigh), Mark Gaule (Sixmilebridge), Rian Considine (Cratloe). Subs: Brian Daly (Meelick), Adam McNamara (Na Piarsaigh), Sean Long (Na Piarsaigh), Conor Burke (Clonlara), Michael Stritch (Clonlara), Aidan Moriarty (Clonlara), Shane Fox (Parteen), Joachaim McGrath (Patrickswell), Emmet McEvoy (Na Piarsaigh), Fionn MacGiolla Cearra (Sixmilebridge), Liam Barry (Parteen), Evan Keogh (Cratloe), Sean Gallagher (Cratloe), Jathan McMahon (Clonlara), Gerard Kennedy (Na Piarsaigh), Cillian O’Brien (Clonlara), Christopher O’Hagan (Na Piarsaigh), Andy McKenzie (Clonlara), Luke O’Sullivan (Na Piarsaigh).

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play