Founded 1904

Co. Clare

U21A Championship 1st Round, Match Report

Download our mobile app to hear more about Sixmilebridge.

See More

Sixmilebridge 0-10
Doora Barefield 0-12

Saturday night under lights saw the start of the new format U21A Championship, with the Bridge having home advantage. The new format introduced for 2022 meant there would be a second chance for the losing teams in the 1st round. The 1st drawn out team for the 1st round received home advantage.

Both of these sides had panelists involved in recent successes in their clubs. Sixmilebridge had won the Junior C and Junior B whilst Doora Barefiled had won the Junior A and Intermediate championships.

There was little sign of any effects of the recent celebrations on the Doora Barefiled team as they raced into an early 2 point lead with points from Eoghan Talty on the wing and another from their corner forward Bruce Piggott. The 'Bridge opening score came from Dara Casey who was on the end of a good move. A couple of frees from Jack Corry and a point from play from Colm Flynn was the extent of the scoring for the 'Bridge in the 1st half as they finished the half down 3 points with Sixmilebridge 0-4 to Doora Barefields 0-7.

With Barefield shooting the opening score of the half but spurning a number of chances to extend the gap, the Bridge shot 3 points on the trot to bring the gap back to 2 points. The scores coming from 2 frees from Corry and a second point from Flynn. However trading a few more scores from frees, there remained a 3 point gap between the teams going into the closing moments. Fionn Hayes introduced as a sub, brought the gap back to 2 but there was no time left to make up the remaining deficit and Barefield ran out 2 point winners.

The draw for the quarter finals were made on the Monday after the game and the 'Bridge have received a bye into the quarter final, whilst the remaining 4 first round losers will play each other to make up the other 2 spots along with the 5 first round winners.

The 'Bridge will have to regroup after this 1st round defeat and use the few weeks wisely to prepare for the quarter final.

Cian Fawl
Michael Carey
Adam Breen
Evan O' Callaghan
Dylan Downes
Leon Kelly
Seamus O' Connell (Sub Morgan O' Connell)
Luke Keogh (Sub Cian Gleeson)
Colm Flynn (0-2)
Luke O' Halloran
Jack Corry (0-6, 5f)
Evan Murphy
David Kennedy
Adam Murray (Sub Fionn Hayes (0-1))
Dara Casey (0-1)

Colin Kelly
Conor Gilligan
Noel Flynn
Dara Fitzgerald
Dara Toomey
Conor Murphy
Danny Dunne
Gary O' Callaghan

Oisin Breen (injured)

Sean MacNamara (injured)

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play