Founded 1904

Co. Clare

Mountain Take the Overall Parish League Title, Junior & Senior Finals 16th March

Download our mobile app to hear more about Sixmilebridge.

See More

There were some very exciting games in last Friday night's final round of the Parish league, before the finals. With everything to play for in the last round of games it certainly ensured that the competitive edge would be out in force on the night.

The Mountain are now the Overall Parish League Champions, taking the Mikey Sheedy Cup for 2023. There will be a presentation, details to be confirmed. Speaking after the Senior match, Senior Mountain manager Jim Fitzgerald indicated he was delighted to have managed a great bunch of lads through the senior games and felt that the league was very worthwhile in keeping lads reasonably in touch with acceptable fitness levels and also helping to provide an element of pre season hurling despite inclement weather outside. Junior Mountain managers, Syl O' Conor and PJ Fitzpatrick, veteran Parish League managers at this stage said that the indoor arena and the smaller pitch size did present problems initially when devising their tactical approach but over the course of several Thursday night meetings they feel they now have a good blend of hurling which should serve them well in the Junior final.

However, it remains to be seen who will take the honours in Senior Parish League Final and the Junior Parish League final. The Mountain and Cappa amazingly have reached both finals. These finals will be played on Thursday evening March 16th from 7pm in the Arena, and it is hoped they will be streamed online. It is hoped to stream the matches live so anyone in the local pubs or at home will be able to see the action as viewing in the Arena is restricted. More details to follow soon..

A very competitive league over the 6 weeks, ensured that everything was to play for on the final night. Very enjoyable with the right mix of physicality and competitiveness. The games, through January, February and March will certainly have helped to keep players sharp whilst doing their bit for their respective Townlands.

Parish League, Senior, Round 6

Village 21

Cappa 22
Referee - Kevin Corry

In the senior opening game, Cappa played out a nail biter against the village. With both teams needing a win to give themselves a chance of reaching the senior final, they both went he'll for leather. The village led by one after the first third at 7-6. Both teams lost one of their sharpshooters to injury shortly after with Danny Chaplin and Dara Casey leaving the fray. After the second third Cappa had clawed the lead back and went into a one point lead at 15-14, still nothing in it. Derek Fahy made his 2023 Parish league debut and produced some fly goalie tactics that hadn't been seen in the league this year. His running game similar to Gaelic football goalies of late produced at 5 goals. After a very tense finish, it was Cappa who won out by the minimum. Alex Morey, Brian Corry and Jordan Downes played well for the Village and Danny Chaplin, Luke O' Halloran and Ronan Tuohy stood out for Cappa.

Cappa Team: Danny Chaplin (4), Ronan Tuohy (1), Lorcan Fitzpatrick (6), Derek Fahy (5), Luke O' Halloran (4), Cian Gleeson (2)
Management: Adrian Chaplin, Mike O' Halloran

Village Team: Brian Corry (6), Paul Corry, Alex Morey (7), Jordan Downes (1), Dylan Downes (3), Dara Casey (2), Conor Deasy (2)
Management; Pat Keane, Danny Reddan

Parish League, Senior, Round 6

Mountain 18

Kilmurry 17
Referee - Kevin Corry

This game again was a nail biter and went down to the final few seconds before a winner was clear. It was 7-4 to Kilmurry after the first third and Kilmurry still lead by 3 after the second third, at 12-9. But a powerful final third from the Mountain egged on by the crowd, saw them finish the game out as 1 goal winners, 18-17. Cathaoir Agnew caused the Mountain the most problems but once the Mountain defence got togrips with him and started firing on all cyclinders in attack, they were able to stage a great comeback. There was some excellent sharp shooting from Doc, Jamie Shanahan and Alan Mulready with 14 goals between the three of them.

Mountain Team: Richard Drake, Noel Purcell, Aidan Quilligan (1), Alan Mulready (5), Tommy Liddy (1), David O' Conor (4), Dara Fitzgerald, Danny Dunne, Fiachra O' Bhraoin (2), Jamie Shanahan (5)
Management; Jim Fitzgerald, PJ Fitzpatrick, Ian Chaplin

Kilmurry Team: Cian Hogan, Adam Breen (2), Cathaoir Agnew (4), Sean Macnamara (4), Oisin Breen (4), Ciaran Hassett (2), Cillian Custy (1)
Management; John Macnamara, Adrian Hogan

Parish League, Junior, Round 6

Cappa 18

Village 9
Referee - Adrian Hogan

Whilst it didn't seem at the outset that there was going to be a double score difference at the final whistle, that was they way it ended in this final league game for both teams. Battling performances from Billy Maxwell and Jason Murphy kept hopes alive for the Village but ultimately Cappa proved to be too strong. Cappa had good performances from Barry Loughnanne and Cian Gleeson.

Cappa team: Danny Chaplin, Barry Loughnanne (6), Oisin Fitzpatrick (3), Cian Gleeson (5), Sean Chaplin (3), Mike O' Halloran (1), Gerry O' Halloran, Paul Fitzpatrick, Adrian Chaplin
Management: Terence Chaplin

Village Team: Robbie Corry (3), Billy Maxwell (1), Jason Murphy (2), Danni Rezanov (1), Aidan O' Conor, Brendan Murphy, Donald Devanney (2), Ryan McCarthy
Management: Mikey Corbett, Tom Sheehan

Parish League, Junior, Round 6

Mountain 15

Kilmurry 12
Referee - Sham Carr

Kilmurrys young guns lined out against the Mountains elder statesmen but the young guns were not able to get the win they badly needed to keep their chances alive of reaching the final. Strong performances from Evan O' Callaghan converted tom the forwards for the evening and Brendan Carey kept Kilmurry within touching distance throughout the game, making the Mountain reach deep to ensure they would get the victory. Good for the Mountain were Doc on the scoring charts and Fiachra O' Bhraoin was strong through the middle.

Mountain team; Richard Drake, Ian Chaplin, Mark O' Donovan, Dara Fitzgerald (1), David O' Conor (9), Tommy Liddy (1), Fiachra O' Bhraoin (2), Paul Corbett (2), Stiofan Fitzpatrick, Danny Dunne
Management; PJ Fitzpatrick, Syl O' Connor

Kilmurry team: Gary O' Callaghan (1), Evan O' Callaghan (4), Oisin Breen, Brendan Carey (4), Morgan O' Connell (1), Conor Gilligan (2), Michael Carey, Paddy Reilly
Management; Brendan O' Callaghan, Declan Sheedy, Tom Keogh

Download ClubZap

Get live information for Club on the ClubZap App

App Store Google Play